What we did this weekend

Saturday started with a trip to the French Market.
IMG_1232

Cher and I really wanted to find Vanille Patisserie in the Olgilvie Metra Station.

It was so cool! There are a whole bunch of shops and vendors at the French Market. Right away, we found Vanille Patisserie and the macaroons.

IMG_1223

IMG_1244
We got raspberry (red), rose (pink), violet (purple), pistachio (green), vanilla (blue) and strawberry/lemon grass (yellow/red).

After we bought our lovely menagerie of macaroons (to be eaten later), we decided it was time for lunch. We got a vegetarian meal from a Korean vendor (Cher will have to tell me what it is).
IMG_1236

Then, we got a ham and brie crêpe from a crêperie. So good!
IMG_1249

They had the COOLEST silverware. It was wooden.
IMG_1248

And, just to prove how wonderful the crêpe was, here’s a gratuitous shot of me eating it (haha)
IMG_1251

There was a chocolate shop too. They were SO detailed!
IMG_1230

IMG_1226
Desserts!

Cher
Cher LOVED it!

Coolest alcohol EVER!
IMG_1227

And, once we had our fill of the place (I didn’t get any shots of the produce vendors, or the meat vendors!) we headed off to the Chicago Art Institute.

IMG_1254

IMG_1262

IMG_1265

IMG_1263

Chicago vacation

Whew! That’s a LOT of stuff. We went on to a fantastic dinner next.

Started with cheese balls (yum)
IMG_1280

A wine flight
IMG_1276

IMG_1279

Pickled goodness
IMG_1284

Cheese! French triple cream, Grueye and 10-year aged cheddar
IMG_1283

Scallops
IMG_1285

And, dessert wine and ice cream
IMG_1287

Whew!

Cher wore:
Pink sweater: Mine
Scarf: Mine, H&M
Pants: American Eagle
Shoes: Chucks
Coat: Express

I wore:
Top: F21
Tank: Target
Cardigan: Trade with What Would a Nerd Wear
Pants: Old Navy
Sneakers: Vans
Headband: Self Made
Scarf: Old Navy

3 thoughts on “What we did this weekend

  1. Wooow! XD I felt so hungry with the food! XD I guess the Korean dish is Bi Bim Bop? Then the reddish spicy on the side is Kimchi. ^^ I looove desserts that’s why I drooled on the display on the chocolate shop. XD

    You look pretty on the stairs shot. ^^ Btw, Cher’s coat looks good… ^^

    • Yes! That’s what the Koren dish was. I had no idea! Thanks!! 🙂 It was really good.
      I tried the Kimchi, but it was WAY too hot for me!

      And thanks!!

  2. LOL the kimchi was FANTASTIC. It wasn’t HUGE massive pieces, very easy to eat. The bibimbap was awesome. they had tofu instead of beef on top, and it was really good. I want to try to recreate it at home.

    That coat is at least 10 years old. glad to know I can still rock it:)

Comments are closed.