What to wear to a wedding

Spring is becoming a wedding season for me. So far, I have three to attend (and a baby shower, but that’s another post for another time), and a few more later in the summer.

This got me thinking of what I could wear to a wedding that was affordable. I’ve put together a few outfits, at different price points, that would fit in at a spring or summer wedding. (I’m also going to give you some “don’ts” with examples at the end. There are some outfits that should never been seen at a wedding.)

If you’re invited to a beach wedding, and only have $25 to spend on a new look, this is the one for you:

Usually I wouldn’t recommend flip-flops, because they aren’t dressy, but these are done in a different way, and they’re perfectly appropriate for a beach wedding.

If you really like those shoes, and want to find a way to wear them to another wedding, under $25 or $30, this is your outfit:

Just the dress and shoes are under $25, throw in a fun headband and it ups the price a little bit. Again, this isn’t an oufit you should wear to a black-tie wedding, but it would fit in at an outdoor wedding or a more casual affair.

If you’re looking for something that could fit in almost anywhere and had a little more money to spend, $50-$75, here’s your look:

This is another outfit where just the shoes and dress are $50, but if you wanted to add accessories, the necklace and ring add $10, and the lace gloves and headband add $8.30. By the way, I imagine the dress with the lace gloves and bow headband at a garden wedding, but that’s just my opinion.

Now, in case you do need to go to a black-tie wedding, have nothing to wear, and a small budget, you can purchase this look for just under $50:

There is always something classy about pearls and peep-toe flats. This outfit isn’t overdone, but would make sure you fit in at nearly any wedding. I wouldn’t recommend it for a beach wedding, unless you took off the pearls and wore different shoes.

And now for the “please don’t ever wear to a wedding” looks:

dont wear to a wedding
Leopard print NEVER fits in at a wedding, unless it’s prehistoric or Halloween themed. Another thing to never wear is denim or jeans. Ever. It’s never appropriate at a wedding function, even wedding showers.
The bubble dress above is only appropriate for a prom or formal- not a wedding. The only people wearing satin (or taffeta) are the bride and bridesmaids. You never want to be a guest and be mistaken for a bridesmaid.
 
If you have any questions about the above outfits or want me to style something for you, email me at smooreink (at) gmail (dot) com.
One thought on “What to wear to a wedding

  1. This is a very helpful post especially for the clueless ones… like me. XD

    I like the dresses you featured… I agree with the leopard prints no-nos. lol XD I think it wouldn’t be appropriate to wear leopard prints in the wedding unless it’s Pocahontas’ wedding. XD

    Now, I’m so in love with shoes you featured! The striped wedge just look so cute! I looove it! 🙂

Comments are closed.