Guest Post: We Walk…bump bump bump

Cher (aka Auntie Cherrow) here with an actual clothing AND shoe post. I’ve “borrowed” Miss Vinyl’s blog to share an important issue: Shoe care. Also, in case the title is confusing…you should pick up the Ting Tings “We Started Nothing” album. It is excellent and contains enough cowbell to make even Will Ferrell happy.

I take the train to work every day.

I have to walk to the train station and then walk to my work when I disembark from the train. Because of this, I wear flats outside. Not because I can’t walk in heels (trust me, I totally can), but because nice heels can be expensive and I want to make them last. Trudging through the snow, salt, ice, and rain does not make them last longer!

(Sidebar:) Obviously, this woman is a total idiot. You’re carrying a tote bag! Wear wellies and tuck the shoes into your bag. I can’t imagine she was able to cross that intersection without getting filthy snow all over the outside AND inside of her shoes. Dumb, dumb, dumb!!!

(Sidebar over, sorry!) So I buy cheap (under $20) flats every so often. The flats don’t last too long, but I’m not really a flats-loving kind of gal. Come spring, my feet can be found clad only in flip flops until November.

I have wellies too, of course, but they aren’t always warm enough, and I don’t want to look silly when it’s not raining or snowing and I’m wearing knee-high yellow rain boots. On those days, I always get a seat all to my crazy self on the train. 🙂

It’s an easy enough day when I wear skirts and leggings or tights. But on the days I want to wear pants, footwear gets a little complicated. I am a short girl (5’6 on a good day; 5’5 most others) and all my pants start their lives with a new, shorter hem than when I purchased them. But even with shortening them initially, they aren’t good for flats. As most women (should) know, the hem for flat shoes is different (sometimes several inches different) than heels.

A while ago, I saw a product highlighted on the news that might make the cut.

They are called Zakkerz. fabric-covered tabs with magnets in each end. Roll up your pant leg, and use the Zakkerz to hold them in place while you walk to your destination. They come in many colors, none of which will exactly match your pants, but they are close enough to not look too silly…and they look better than saggy pants!

Zakkers…they start at $27 for a set. Call me cheap, but that seems like a lot of money. If I could afford to buy those in a color to match all my pants, I totally would. Currently, I use small safety pins on the seams, which work fine. I just make sure the pins are in a different place each time so a permanent hole isn’t created over time.

Another option is to use electrical tape and magnets to create a DIY pant holder. Electrical tape comes in a lot of colors, so you can really match it to your outfit. Simply cut two pieces to the same length, lay two strong magnets on one piece at each end, and then lay the other piece of tape on top.

Ta-da!

One thought on “Guest Post: We Walk…bump bump bump

  1. I agree with what you said with wearing flats than heels on everyday walks. I usually wear flats too. Back then in college I was used to wearing heels. But as expected, they don’t last long and pretty shoes don’t come cheap. I would’ve saved a lot of cute heels if I’ve been careful on picking the right shoes for my daily life then. 😦

    Now, I usually wear flip-flops, I live in a country where it’s unbelievable hot (when it’s summer temp rise up tp 35 deg Celsius) that’s why flip-flops is the best choice. Plus, they last long. Aside from flip-flops, I wear flat sandals and ballet flats too. 🙂

    Btw, thanks for the gift! ^^ I really appreciate it Cher… 🙂

Comments are closed.