Defeating writers block

As NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) comes closer, I’ve been trying to figure out ways to combat writers block. This will be my second time attempting the challenge. Basically, you sign up for the Web site (it’s free), and beginning November 1, you write your novel. You have the entire month of November to write 50,000 words (1667 words per day).  You have to upload your story (or something equivalent) into the counter on the site to actually win, but you don’t have to do that until the last day.

I attempted this last year, but I was really unprepared. I didn’t know what to expect and didn’t keep up on the words per day (or writing everyday, for that matter). I did manage to get 37,985 words done by the end of the month, which I was very proud of. So, this year, I am attempting to actually make it.

I’ve got my story idea down, and I know when and where I will write. But, I’m trying to figure out some things to do incase I get caught up with writer’s block. My first idea is to just write- NaNoWriMo isn’t about the quality of writing, it’s about the quantity. You’re supposed to write it all first, then go back and edit it later (in March, but that’s another story). My next idea is to describe things in detail. Not so much detail where it gets boring, but enough that it can take of space, if needed. My guess is I’d be more likely to write details about the location than the weather, but I have no idea. I can ramble on enough to make it work.

I also think I’me just going to have to be in the mood to write and write as much as I can. Sometimes I can sit down and write 2,000 words. Sometimes I’d rather take a nap. I guess I need to force myself to write everyday and see how much I can get done.

How do you get over writers block?

2 thoughts on “Defeating writers block

Comments are closed.