High school.

I haven’t hidden the fact that I hated high school, and my existence from age 11 to age 18 was terrible. Some of it was because of the people I choose to hang out with (I shouldn’t have been friends with people who were so two-faced) and some of it was because I was miserable, and I let that seep out of myself. I let myself be overtaken with my own anger, self-inflicted pain and self-consciousness. I choose my own path, but that doesn’t mean it was the right or wrong one.

 I’m very happy with the way my life is now, even if I’m still a little too blunt sometimes. Most of my friends and coworkers like that I’m very open and very blunt. But it rubs others the wrong way. I’ve always been like that and I’ve never really found a reason to censor myself. I like telling it like it is, and if I’m ticked off, you’re gonna hear about it. I don’t care if you’re too lazy to (FILL IN THE BLANK), you’d better get off your ass and do it. I’m not going to take your crap unless you can take mine.

That’s where Joe comes in. He’s pretty much the only person besides Cher who can take all the crap I have to dish out and doesn’t mind. He knows I’m gonna get pissed and yell at someone. He knows I’m going to be very blunt, and it doesn’t bother him. It’s actually kinda nice. He doesn’t get all weirded out when I just want to sit at home at read (Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, anyone?). He actually likes my geekiness, and enjoys that I know very odd facts. He likes that I want to write a book, and I’m actually doing it. And it doesn’t bother him one bit that I don’t plan to go to my high school reunion or care to go back to my hometown of Dexter for any extended period of time, other than to visit my parents. He’s fine with it all.

That’s why he’s so awesome, and why now is so much better than high school. Although, every once in a blue moon, I get asked by one of the few friends I still have from high school, why I won’t go to the reunion. My answer is very simple – I don’t care to go back and rub in everyone’s face what I’m doing with my life, and I don’t care for them to rub it in mine. We get that enough on Facebook, and that’s enough for me. I don’t need to brag to someone about how I created this or that, or whatever, and I don’t need them to do it to me. If someone wants to hang out, they can call me. It’s that simple.

High school was hell and I’m so glad to be out.

